Rosenstiel Basic Medical Sciences Research Center

Jacob Heskel Gabbay Award in
Biotechnology and Medicine

Early in 1998, the trustees of the Jacob and Louise Gabbay Foundation decided to establish a major new award in basic and applied biomedical sciences. The Foundation felt that existing scientific awards tended either to honor people who were already well-recognized, or to focus on work that had its primary impact in traditional basic research fields. Yet, the history of science suggests that most scientific revolutions are sparked by advances in practical areas such as instrumentation and techniques. The Foundation therefore created the Jacob Heskel Gabbay Award in Biotechnology and Medicine to recognize, as early as possible in their careers, scientists in academia, medicine, or industry whose work had outstanding scientific content and significant practical consequences in the biomedical sciences.

Because of their long association with Brandeis University, the trustees of the Foundation asked the Rosenstiel Basic Medical Sciences Research Center at Brandeis to administer the award.

The award, given annually, consists of a $15,000 cash prize (to be shared in the case of multiple winners) and a medallion (pictured). The recipients travel to Brandeis University in the fall of each year and present a lecture on their work, followed by a dinner at which the formal presentation takes place. Nominations were solicited from selected scientists in industry and academia. A panel of distinguished researchers representing the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industries, as well as universities and schools of medicine, are assembled to consider nominations.

| Current Winner(s) | Past Winners | Nominations |

Back to the Rosenstiel Page.